Shadows and light

img_6931

I catch myself sometimes wondering in the past. Having conversations with characters that no longer have a place in my life; giving explanations for my current situation to some old circumstances.  How bizarre. And still, so real.

Our past is part of ourselves. It can haunt us. But it is up to us not to be impressed by its shadows. Because you cannot have a shadow without light. It’s up to us to understand what blocks the light. Once you remove the blocks, it’s only light.
I educated myself not to run from the shadows. I actually learned a lot about me, about my frustrations, my fears. I talk to them. I ask what they want to say and what they have to teach. And that’s how I make peace. I thank the shadows and we make peace. I make peace with my past.

What I wanted to say is that we don’t have to run from our past, from unfinished conversations, from unsolved situations. We have to face them. Is not easy, but is rewarding. And what bigger reward than having closed another chapter of your life.

One ends, so that another one can begin.

Leave a Reply

